Japan – Closed to travelers

Due to the spread of COVID, Japan has announced that foreign travel into Japan by foreigners (with some exceptions) is closed from 30 December 2020 through 31 January 2021.

The edict advises travelers who have been in any of 152 countries (the list includes the United States) within 14 days of application for landing are denied entry.

The complete list, as provided by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs:

Countries/Regions subject to denial of permission to enter Japan:


Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines

North America

Canada, United States of America

Latin America and the Caribbean

Argentine, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela


Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Vatican

Middle East

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates


Algeria, Botswana, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central Africa, Comoros, Cote d’lvoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tunisia, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Exceptional circumstances include foreign nationals (including U.S. military personnel) residing in Japan. These travelers are required to obtain a “Certificate of Testing for COVID in the country of stay to prove that they are COVID negative. The test must have been taken within 72 hours of departure and certification must comply with the Immigration Services Agency of Japan guidance.

Transit passengers must transit through the designated international airport the same day.

For more specific and up-to-date information contact the Japanese Embassy or Consulate

You are viewing cached results from